You've selected

Thursday January 31 2019 at 8:00 PM

× On Thursday, January 31, 2019, 8pm, guest conductor Jonathon Heyward takes the podium for BRITTEN & BERNSTEIN, a tribute to the composer’s response to written word. Berkeley Symphony presents the world premiere of Disillusioned Dreamer, a newly commissioned orchestral piece by Hannah Kendall inspired by a phrase from Ralph Ellison’s Invisible Man, followed by Berkeley Symphony’s first performance of Benjamin Britten’s Four Sea Interludes from Peter Grimes. Pianist Andrew Tyson makes his Berkeley Symphony debut to perform Bernstein’s Symphony No. 2 for Piano and Orchestra, The Age of Anxiety. Bernstein’s Symphony No. 2 was inspired by W.H. Auden’s book-length poem The Age of Anxiety, which he regarded as “one of the most shattering examples of pure virtuosity in the history of English poetry." Selections of poetry will be read by Bay Area actors. Performers will be announced at a later date.


Zellerbach Hall
U.C. Berkeley
2430 Bancroft Ave.
Berkeley CA 94704

To choose your own seats on the auditorium map, leave Any Section and Any Price Code

Select the section you wish to sit in.

Keep seats together or can they be separated?

seat map seat map