poster for event poster for event

You've selected

Sunday, June 12, 2022 at 4:00 PM PDT


To conclude Berkeley Symphony's historic 50th Anniversary season, we join in a communal celebration with Beethoven's epic Ninth Symphony and a reimagined libretto set by former U.S. Poet Laureate Tracy K. Smith. Also highlighted is the World Premiere commission of Rise, a celebratory work written in honor of Berkeley Symphony's 50th Anniversary season by Berkeley-based composer Jimmy López.

Jimmy López Bellido Rise
Beethoven Symphony No. 9 featuring new text from Tracy K. Smith commissioned by Carnegie Hall

Shawnette Sulker, soprano
Gabrielle Beteag, mezzo soprano
Edward Graves, tenor
Nicholas Davis, bass-baritone

Programming is subject to change to create great music.

A Note on COVID Safety
The health and well-being of our community of artists, audiences, staff, and volunteers is our number one priority. To learn about our COVID-19 Protocols, please visit


Zellerbach Hall
U.C. Berkeley
2430 Bancroft Ave.
Berkeley CA 94704

To choose your own seats on the auditorium map, leave Any Section and Any Price Code

Select the section you wish to sit in.

Keep seats together or can they be separated?

seat map seat map