poster for event poster for event

You've selected

Sunday, October 16, 2022 at 4:00 PM PDT


Berkeley Symphony's 51st season opens with a powerful statement on musical identity. The voice of pioneering African American composer Florence Price comes to life in a performance of her Violin Concerto No. 2 with the powerful voice of violinist Rachel Barton Pine as soloist, and a world premiere commission by Berkeley Symphony's New Music USA composer in residence Brian Raphael Nabors. Price's Second Violin Concerto was rediscovered in 2009, and this forgotten gem is a perfect pairing with Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky's powerful Fifth Symphony. Behind this immensely rich symphony was a composer struggling with his personal identity, fighting against his perceived tragic fate. His emotional turmoil is poured into this gripping work. 

Upon Daybreak
World Premiere made possible through New Music USA's Amplifying Voices program and the generous support of the Sphinx Ventures Fund, ASCAP, and the Sorel Organization

Violin Concerto No. 2
Rachel Baron Pine, violin

Symphony No. 5

*programming subject to change* 


Zellerbach Hall
U.C. Berkeley
2430 Bancroft Ave.
Berkeley CA 94704

To choose your own seats on the auditorium map, leave Any Section and Any Price Code

Select the section you wish to sit in.

Keep seats together or can they be separated?

seat map seat map