poster for event


Occurs on Thursday February 6 2020

Approximate running time: 2 hours


Zellerbach Hall
U.C. Berkeley
2430 Bancroft Ave.
Berkeley CA 94704

Event Notes

× We open this program with vocalist Kelley O’Connor who brings the profound words of Argentinian feminist poet Alfonsina Storni to life in Bryce Dessner’s Voy a Dormir. The San Francisco Girls Chorus joins us to commemorate the upcoming anniversaries of the 19th Amendment and Voting Rights Act with May Kouyoumdjian's powerful Become Who I Am. After intermission, the evening concludes with Brahm's Symphony No. 1 in C minor, a work that took the composer nearly 20 years to complete.

Bryce Dessner: Voy a Dormir Mary Kouyoumdjian: Become Who I Am Johannes Brahms: Symphony No. 1 in C minor

Joseph Young, conductor Kelley O'Connor, mezzo soprano

Buy To This Event Directions